Contact information ‹ Back
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Erik Strauß
Univ.-Prof. Dr.

Erik Strauß

Fakultät für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft

+49 (0) 2302 / 926 - 582

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Erik Strauß also holds the following positions:

Management, Economics and Society
Alfred-Herrhausen-Straße 50
58448 Witten
+49 (0)2302 / 926-587
Curriculum vitae

After studying business administration at the Catholic University of Eichstaett-Ingolstadt, Prof Dr Erik Strauss obtained his PhD and Habilitation from the WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. During his time at the WHU, he was also the managing director of the Center for Controlling and Management of the WHU which conducts benchmarking studies of controlling processes with DAX30 firms. Since March 2014, he holds the Dr Werner Jackstaedt Endwoed Chair of Accounting & Control at Witten/Herdecke University.

Prof Dr Strauss’s main research interests are (i) the influence of new technologies on management accounting and control, (ii) change management in the finance function, and (iii) the development of the management accountant role. He published in journals like Contemporary Accounting Research, Management Accounting Research, Journal of Management and Governance, Schmalenbach Business Review, Journal of Accounting and Organizational Change, Qualitative Research in Accounting and Management, Accounting History or Journal of Management Control.

Additionally, he is a member of the editorial board of Qualitative Research in Accounting and Management as well as Journal of Governance & Control. Furthermore, he works as reviewer for different journals such as Organization Science, Management Accounting Research, European Accounting Research or Journal of Management Control. Simultaneously, he is engaged in the European Network for Research in Organisational and Accounting Change (ENROAC) and serves as academic director of Entrepreneurship Zentrum Witten (EZW).

Die Universität Witten/Herdecke ist durch das NRW-Wissenschaftsministerium unbefristet staatlich anerkannt und wird – sowohl als Institution wie auch für ihre einzelnen Studiengänge – regelmäßig akkreditiert durch: