School of Psychology and Psychotherapy

    Information for international students

    Degree seeking students

    The UW/H psychology degree programmes are open to everyone irrespective of her/his financial background through the Income Share Agreement (ISA) offered by the Studierendengesellschaft (SG). Prospective students need a nationally recognized higher education entrance qualification and German language skills (C1 level). Admission may be granted after participation in a personal selection procedure, with personality and personal commitment counting more than grades or socio-demographic background. Please contact the Admissions Office for further information.

    We are offering a polyvalent Psychology B.Sc. programme, the Psychology with a Focus on Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy M.Sc. programme, as well as a doctoral programme leading to either a Dr. phil. or a Dr. rer. nat. degree. Our bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes have been awarded the “Seal of Quality” by the German Psychological Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychologie - DGPs).

    Language of instruction is German, and teaching takes place in small groups of up to 36 students at most – even in the case of lectures. The Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region, where Witten/Herdecke University is situated, has been a meeting point and melting pot of cultures for centuries. It is home to a high density of universities as well as research and cultural institutions at an affordable cost of living.

    Logo der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie
    “Seal of Quality” by the German Psychological Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychologie - DGPs)

    ERASMUS/SEMP and non-degree seeking students

    Applications of both students from our ERASMUS/SEMP partner institutions and from other institutions that are not yet our partners are welcome. If your institution is not listed below, please contact the international office at your university. Our current ERASMUS/SEMP partners are:

    • Universität Bern (Switzerland)
    • University of Cyprus at Nicosia (Cyprus)
    • Universidad de la Habana (Cuba)
    • Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt (Austria)
    • Université de Nantes (France)
    • Università degli Studi di Palermo (Italy)
    • Università degli Studi “La Sapienza” Roma (Italy)
    • Yeditepe Üniversitesi (Turkey)

    Tuition waivers are available for our ERASMUS partners. ERASMUS exchange students are nominated by their international coordinators at their home institution. Deadlines for nomination via the international office of your home university are 30 June for the following winter semester and 31 December for the following summer semester. Please refer to the overview of the application process and requirements or contact your international office for further information. All other students are kindly requested to contact us at for information on admission procedures, tuition, and additional information on health insurance and visa issues.

    Language of instruction is German. In addition to lectures and seminars, we offer active participation in ongoing research projects, supervision of bachelor’s and master’s theses with or without collaboration with your local supervisor, and German language courses.

    ERASMUS Student Network (ESN)

    The ERASMUS Student Network (ESN) Witten/Herdecke provides assistance for the first steps after your arrival including support in finding accommodation and in arranging your stay in Witten. Please contact ESN Witten/Herdecke at

    More about ESN

    Die Universität Witten/Herdecke ist durch das NRW-Wissenschaftsministerium staatlich anerkannt und wird – sowohl als Institution wie auch für ihre einzelnen Studiengänge – regelmäßig akkreditiert durch: